h1

Neko attends Metrowear

August 2, 2009

July 30, 2009 NBC Tent

MetroWear YDG/FDCP Show hosted by Samsung and Metro Magazine

I was there at the scene to witness both young and veteran fashion designers from the Young Designers Guild and Fashion Design Committee of the Philippines parade their latest pieces. It was, I admit, my first time attending such event (not counting the fashion show we had during our 3rd yr of college) and I wouldn’t have gone if it wasn’t for work. Yes, it was for work because my boss asked me to go in his place and take pictures of the models who wore the shoes we sponsored for the event. But I had fun nonetheless and got to spot some celebrities like Bianca Gonzales, Diether Ocampo; and Melissa Ricks and Megan Young who were models, but I only noticed it when I was already reviewing the pictures I took.

Cocktails started at past 6pm, but the show started at around quarter to 9pm. Wearing my wedged knee-high gladiators, my feet were ready to kill me. There were no seats to take a break, and we didn’t get seat tickets even though we were on the guest list because it was a first come first serve basis. But I did get an awesome spot for taking pictures, right in front of the end of the runway! I wasn’t going to give that place up no matter what happened, even when we did find two seat tickets on the floor. No way.

MetroWear Stage

The stage looked normal, but when the show started it totally transformed. The center part had box-like rows where models were sihlouetted. On the upper left side was the DJ looking cool. On the right housed the violinist and the choir who sang acapella versions of popular songs of today. Finally, the show started. The designs were grouped in different themes like Shakespeare, Enchantment, House on the Prairie, and others I don’t remember.

My favorite collections were from Hindy Weber-Tantoco, Rajo Laurel, Dong Omaga-Diaz, and Joey Samson.

Eric Delos Santos - YDG

Eric Delos Santos - YDG

Ferdie Abuel - YDG

Ferdie Abuel - YDG

Hindy Weber-Tantoco - FDCP

Hindy Weber-Tantoco - FDCP

Tippi Ocampo - FDCP

Tippi Ocampo - FDCP

Reian Mata - YDG

Reian Mata - YDG

Louis Claparols - YDG

Louis Claparols - YDG

Len Nepomuceno-Guiao - FDCP

Len Nepomuceno-Guiao - FDCP

Dong Omaga-Diaz - FDCP

Dong Omaga-Diaz - FDCP

Rajo Laurel - FDCP

Rajo Laurel - FDCP

Joey Samson - FDCP

Joey Samson - FDCP

Regine Dulay - YDG

Regine Dulay - YDG

Fountain walk in black

Fountain walk in black

Those were just some of the pictures I’ve taken, the others didn’t come out very well since the models only stood for a split second before walking back. Can you spot Bianca in the pictures? Haha she’s sitting somewhere there. Anyway, the whole show only lasted for 45 minutes max but it left me satisfied. Thank you Sir for being away so I could attend this!

And lastly, the Figlia girls. Who tried hard to fit in with all the fashionable people. Till next update! ~__^

MetroWear

10 comments

  1. Very nice shots taken from the very best spot! Pro-babyyyy!


    • thank you bebi!!! I’m happy it turned out okay, but I’m sure there are better pics floating around from the official photographers of the event.


  2. i like joey samson’s designs too, very androgynous, ang gulo nya lang magsketch, nahihilo ako. hahaha


    • yup! very avant-garde like. And I like the shoes first then stockings style he did.


  3. nice shots!!! they can buy this from you. wah regine dulay, i’ve seen some of her stuff sa shop dati LOL i agree with yuna, joey samson’s my fave here


    • They can? Really? But there were so many photographers from the media too. I bet they have better shot since they were up in the media platform. T__T i wanted a spot there too


  4. Hi! I’d to grab some photos if that is okay with you. Thanks =)


    • Sure, go ahead! ^__^ congrats on a successful show!


  5. loves the joey samson and reian mata here!

    nice shots shuuji!~


    • Domo akira!! Joey samson seems to be a fave among us redrum!



Leave a comment